LSE Open 2013 [MOTIONS]

Motions for the 2013 LSE Open. The Chief Adjudicator was Jonathan Leader Maynar, who as joined by DCAs Leela Koenig and Christine Simpson.

R1: THBT western liberal democracies should institute bans on their citizens visiting illiberal states whose economies depend on tourism
R2: THW require prospective owners or large shareholders of sport clubs/teams to gain majority support from season ticket holders or other representatives of the fan base to complete their acquisition
R3: THW make conscription a war crime
R4: THW require close relatives of the homeless to pay their welfare costs to the extent that they can afford to do so
R5: THW allocate state funding for the arts exclusively to new and original work, and never to reproductions of ‘great works’ or other old plays, opera, music, films or art
QF: THBT the International Criminal Court should focus on indicting and prosecuting larger numbers of middle-to-low ranking suspects for war crimes, crimes against humanity, or genocide, rather than smaller numbers of high ranking suspects
SF: THBT the civil and criminal legal system has no business considering or regulating behaviour that exclusively occurs in online virtual worlds such as ‘Second Life’
GF: THW support policies of ‘ever increasing political union’ – i.e. progressive political integration aimed at the distant goal of federal unification – amongst members of the League of Arab States

ESL GF: THW allow pro-life organisations to offer to pay women considering abortions to carry the baby to term (assuming adequate child support services exist)


[VIDEO] LSE Open 2012 Grand Final & Results

Video of the Grand Final of the 2012 London School of Economic and Political Science’s Debate Open.
Thanks to LSE Debater and LPC Alumni, Abel Lam for the upload.

The motion is ‘TH Regrets the decline of Marxism in Western Liberal Democracies’

Champions: Fred Cowell and Jason Vit

Grand Finals:
OG: Arrest Warents – Daniel Warents (PM) & Lewis Iwu (DPM)
OO: Minority Quotas – Stephen Boyle (LO) & Harish Natarajan (DLO)
CG: Freddy v Jason – Fred Cowell (MG) & Jason Vit (MW)
CO: Crown Dom. B – Joe Roussos (MO) & Ashish Kumar (OW)

The Tab

LSE Open 2012

Dear All,

Registration for the largest and most prestigious open debate tournament in the UK is now open, so be sure to register early to guarantee yourself a spot before we fill our team cap!

This year, the Bank of America Merrill Lynch LSE Open will be taking place on the 18th and 19th of February 2012.

Registration Details:

  • Please register on our website starting January 1st 2012. Click here to register.
  • The registration fee will be £50 for IONA teams, and £40 for international teams.
  • The team cap is set at 100 (there will be no institutional cap). The N-1 judges rule applies.

This year, the Bank of America Merrill Lynch LSE Open will be bigger and better than ever:

  • 5 Preliminary Rounds of Closed Motions, 7 minute speeches. Open break to Quarter-Finals, ESL break to Semi-Finals.
  • Our distinguished CA team will include:
  • Chief Adjudicator Shengwu Li (WUDC Finalist, EUDC & Cambridge IV Winner)
  • Chief Adjudicator Ruth Faller (EUDC Semi-Finalist, EUDC CA 2011, Durham IV & Galway IV Winner)
  • Deputy Chief Adjudicator Koen van Schie (Oxford IV ESL Winner, EUDC ESL Semifinalist & Cambridge IV ESL Finalist)
  • We will be having amazing socials on Friday (for early arrivals), Saturday and Sunday nights!
  • For more information, please contact our Organising Committee at Join us on our Facebook event page today!

    We look forward to seeing you come February!

    Best wishes,
    John Lee

    Convenor | Bank of America Merrill Lynch LSE Open 2012
    LSE SU Debate Society | London School of Economics & Political Science

    LSE Open 2011

    The LSE Open will be held on the 19th and 20th of February this year.
    We’re certain it’s going to be a bigger, better and more efficiently run tournament than ever.

    When: 19th & 20th February 2011
    Where: LSE Campus, Holborn
    CAs: John Ashbourne and Anser Aftab – World finalists and winners of the Oxford IV
    Registration: £40 per team
    Convenor: Scott MacDonald

    There is no institution cap and a team cap of 100, so register quick to get spots!

    We will guarantee crash on FRIDAY and SATURDAY nights for all international teams. Domestic teams should apply for crash when registering and we’ll try our very best to accommodate you, but seeing as most people have friends at London universities the demand isn’t usually that high.

    We will be having amazing socials on FRIDAY, SATURDAY and SUNDAY nights!
    Last year we bought more alcohol than we could drink… we’ll be doing the same again.

    If you have any other questions feel free to email us at
    Registration is open now at