The Long Way


Since starting work, being a consummate consumer of news has been increasingly difficult. At the same time as my interests (or perceived supposed interests) expanded to include things I ought to know for work, the amount of time I have to read and consume news has shrunk as work has taken up the time or at least the mental space. I have learned to be more selective in what I read and choose, fewer spontaneous pieces, more focus on things I feel are most important. My sources have become shorter and shorter, being easier to finish in the sport bursts of time that I feel I have.

But more often than not, I am simply succumbing to the pithy, bite-sized, sound-bite based culture that our news and media has increasingly been reduced to. So it was fantastically refreshing (in this holiday of the last few days) to be able to engage in some serious long-form journalism – Hiking around the hills of Hong Kong listening to an almost 3-hour long podcast about the Oprah Winfrey show (Making Oprah by WBEZ); watching a 2-hour long film about spending a year in space (A Year in Space by TIME); a ton of long-form articles that I wouldn’t have had time to read in my normal routine.

So despite my succumbing to the ever-shortening attention span that we grant to the news, I guess this is a timely and helpful reminder that we should always find the time for some proper long-form news.

IMAGE: Taken from Mount Butler as I was reminded of a friend who said that their favorite thing about Hong Kong was how close nature was to the city and vice-versa. Fact proven when it is possible to do a 3-hour casual hike from door-to-door on the fly.

One comment

Comments are closed.