Open Justice


Was inspired by a talk today about various things, amongst them photography. Not really much of a photographer, but taking photos is something I occasionally find fun and interesting, and whilst it will take me ages to get to a point where more photos find their way online, I have spontaneously decided to leak the odd image online whilst I have the drive to. This one was the first that caught my eye as I browsed the folders.

This one is from my recent trip to Tokyo, during one of my many walks around the city. It is of the Supreme Court of Japan, which I realised only after consulting my map. The imposing seemingly impenetrable grey building composed of many slabs struck me as quite a juxtaposition to the idea of open justice. For some reason it reminded me of a prison, what with the character-less flat face, jagged edges and grey monotonous colour. To be clear, I’m sure it has a normal entrance that is inviting and befitting of the concept, I just didn’t chance upon it given the route I took and having already decided to make my way to the National Diet Library.

