Movies!


I have to say, I don’t like the new movies on offer this time round as much as I did other flights. It might have to do with me being sleep deprived and tired and everything, but the only one I really liked was Real Steel, which incidentally I watched first.

Obviously Hugh Jackman was good, and in some respects he was the reason I watched it in the first place. The plot was a bit too predictable and it got quite boring in the middle of the film, loosing a bit of steam. That said, the ending was superb and the battle against Zeus really captures your emotion. I know I felt as emotional about the match as the characters seemed to which is always a good sign for a movie.

I then moved on to Moneyball, equally because it featured Brad Pitt, but also because I was interested in the mathematics side of things (yes, I’m still nerdy). It wasn’t bad, although it wasn’t a big blockbuster and the ending was a bit odd. My night didn’t get much better as Moneyball was followed by Puss in Boots. A typical, predictable movie will all the usual elements. Nothing spectacular, although it wasn’t a terrible movie.

I was getting sleeping so I slept for a while and then woke up to watch Contagion. I just don’t get the point of this movie. I can follow the story line easily enough, but the concept of time gets so distorted by the director that it’s so easy to get lost. The host of big name actors just don’t quite fit together into a single storyline.

A little bored and hoping for some ‘drive’, I watched Drive. The narrative was a little better although landing meant I couldn’t finish the whole movie. I don’t think I missed much though. As I said, I really wasn’t a big fan of the movies available this time round. maybe I should have gone for the other ones on my list: The Debt, Tailor, Sailor, Soldier, Spy and Warrior.

Who knows, hopefully there’ll be some better movies on the flight back in May.

One comment

  1. Pingback: nice one

Comments are closed.