TEDxYouth@Bath 2011


After a long nights travel, we finally arrived in bath. It was my first ever visit, but hopefully it won’t be my last. Grabbing a bit of food, we headed up from the station to the very modern Egg Theatre where TEDxYouth@Bath was held.

The conference itself was brilliant. I truly couldn’t have asked for a better first formal TED event. Charlotte Calkin did a brilliant job of organizing the event. every single speaker was spectacular and I’d be hard pressed to select my favorite. Nevertheless, my attention was most grabbed by Dave Cornthwaite, Robin Wight, Neil Mullarkey and Deena Gormick.

Both Dave and Deena reminded me of the importance of having the bravery to go with our passions, even if it means breaking traditional moulds. Neil had a very interesting perspective on collaboration, based upon his experiences in improve theatre, as a process of offering things to others. Robin had some fantastic insights and the examples he sighted were shocking and inspiring at the same time.

All in all, a wonderful and worthwhile experience.

Our few seconds of Youtube TED fame. See 00:51.

For more photos, see http://www.flickr.com/photos/68565805@N02/sets/72157628051815627/ and http://www.flickr.com/photos/ekfinlay/sets/72157628041388353/

One comment

Comments are closed.