WSDC 2012 – Team New Zealand Coaches

Team New Zealand will be jointly coached by Clodagh O’Connor-McKenna and Udayan Mukherjee at the 2012 World Schools’ Debating Championships in Cape Town, South Africa. They will take over from Steve Hind who coached Team New Zealand at WSDC 2010 and WSDC 2011.


Clodagh coached the 2009 New Zealand Schools Debating Team which reached the quarter-finals of the 2010 World Schools’ Debating Champs in Qatar. She also has an outstanding record as a coach on a national level. Regional teams she has coached have won the National Championships on three occasions (2007, 2009 and 2010) and in 2008 a team were runners-up. Clodagh is a former winner of the New Zealand Schools’ Debating Championships herself (in 2004).

Udayan has most recently been the assistant coach of the 2011 NZ Team which competed in Dundee in August this year. He has coached regional teams at the National Champs for the last three years (Hawke’s Bay in 2009 and 2010, and Wellington in 2011), and was an adjudicator for New Zealand on the Russell McVeagh International Tour earlier this year. He won the Australasian Intervarsity Debating Championships in both 2010 and 2011.