WSDC 2011 – Team Netherlands

This is part of the WSDC 2011 series as I recount and report on the World School Debating Championship 2011 in Dundee, Scotland as a debater, blogger and Wales national team member.

Selections began in January at the Dutch Schools Debating Championships 2011 on the 22nd, January 2011. A top 13 were selected from over 80 students. The group was whittled down to just 7 after a further training session in February. A rigorous three month training schedule occurred with the group of 7 including debates, training and master classes. A final 4 were chosen from this squad of 7.

For WSDC 2011, Team Netherlands will be

  • Anna Verkaik
  • Azer Aras
  • Joris Broeders
  • Menno Schellekens (Utrechts Stedelijk Gymnasium)

Team Netherlands will be coached by Rooj Darweesh, WSDC Team Netherlands debater in 2008, 2009 and coach in 2010.

Source: and with some help from Google Translate. Photo credit –


One comment

Comments are closed.