And the 2011 Sing Tao champion is…

And the Sing Tao champion is…

South Island School once again emerged victorious in the Grand Final of the 26th Sing Tao Inter-School Debating Competition, successfully defending their crown whilst also taking home the Best Speaker prize that eluded the team last year.

Proposing the motion that ‘the MTR should withdraw the Fare Adjustment Mechanism’, the South Island School debate team was lead by Captain Tiffany Chung, the only remaining member from SIS’s victorious team just one year earlier. Joining her on stage were two of last year’s floor speakers, Pavan Hegde and Saharsha Karki.

The team was completed with floor speakers Alan Gigi, Madhav Menon and Tiffany Shih. Coaches Michael Evershed and Mary Garland can celebrate a job well done, guiding a fourth team of SIS debaters to yet another championships, bringing the SIS total to 4 championships out of the last 6 years.

On the opposition were Chinese International School, champions of the 2nd Senior HKSDC, having defeated La Salle (2009 Sing Tao Champions) in the Grand Final of that competition. At the conclusion of what must have been an eventful night, the Best Speaker award went to Pavan Hegde.

The SIS team was notable in it’s composition, including four Team HK members in it’s line up of 6. Captain Tiffany Chung represented Hong Kong at both WIDPSC 2010 and will do so again at WSDC 2011. Best Speaker Pavan will also form part of Team HK for WSDC 2011. Both floor speakers Madhav and Alan were both members of Team HK at WIDPSC 2011 in Australia just a few months ago.

This will certainly be a history making moment. The Sing Tao competition if not the HK debate scene has been filled with an oversized precence of SIS since the team was first formed just 6 years ago. The first generation won the Championships in 2006 with Rachel, Nancy and Prakash forming the team and Rachel picking up the Best Speaker award. Although the team failed to defend their title in 2007, Prakash stayed on to lead the team to victory in 2008. He was joined by Nicholas and Paul, the latter of whom became the youngest finalist, youngest champion and youngest Best Speaker. SIS was once again unsuccessful in defending it’s crown in 2009, but Paul, joined by Tiffany and Ivan emerged victorious in 2010 although they lost the Best Speaker award to La Salle.

It is poignent that the four generation of debaters have sucessfully defended the Sing Tao crown, once again with a team that features one debater from the previous year and two new to the stage. It should also be noted that no-one on the current debate team was present for the first victory in 2006 with then floor speaker Paul Lau having left for the UK just this academic year.

This is no-doubt a massive achievment and one to be proud of. Congradulations to SIS and it’s debate team.

CORRECTION: A previous version of this post incorrectly indicated Madhav as a debater and Saharsha as a floor speaker. This error has been corrected.