SCWO-SMU Intervarsity Debating Championships 2011

Hello fellow debaters/adjudicators,

In pure style of celebrating the 100th anniversary of the Singapore Council of Women’s Organisations (SCWO), we’re proud to announce the inaugural SCWO-SMU Intervarsity Debating Championships! The SCWO-SMU championships is a collaboration between the SCWO and SMU Debating Society, and will be held from the 25th to 27th February 2011 in SMU. We’d like to warmly invite every institution out there to participate in this historic event.

Debaters will debate through four preliminary rounds in the 3-on-3 Asians format with seven minute speeches and a four minute reply speech. It’ll be a quarter-finals break, and teams can expect tough competition from their fellow peers. Registration costs $20 per person and teams will have to abide by a N=1 rule (For every team you send, you’ll have to send 1 adjudicator).

We’re pleased to have a fine and diversed adjudicator core running the show. The Chief Adjudicator will be Ms. Andrea Soriano from SMU, while the deputy chief adjudicators are Ms. Neha Prakash and Mr. Satya Venugopal. All three of them have broken into the quarter-finals and above at local, regional as well as international debating championships.

To top it all off, cash prizes will be given for the champions, runner-up, as well as the best speaker a nd best adjudicator of the competition – and prizes will be given out by Singapore’s First Lady Urmila Nathan (Yes, President Nathan’s wife) at a formal dinner event.

Teams interested can register on our google spreadsheet at or search for us on Facebook (type SCWO-SMU).

If you have any enquries, please drop us an email at

Thank you and we look forward to your participation!
Best, SMU Debating Society exco.