WSDC 2011 – Team Canada

This is part of the WSDC 2011 series as I recount and report on the World School Debating Championship 2011 in Dundee, Scotland as a debater, blogger and Wales national team member.

The National Team Try out were graciously hosted by Glenlyon Norfolk School on April 22nd and 23rd, 2010. 10 debaters were invited to the National Team Summer training Camp in Toronto from July 4th to July 10th.

For WSDC 2011, Team Canada will be

  • Debi Ogunrinde (Halifax Grammar School, Nova Scotia)
  • Peter McCauley (West Point Grey Academy, British Columbia)
  • Nic Martin (St. John’s Ravenscourt School, Winnipeg, Manitoba) {Member of Team Canada for WIDPSC 2011}
  • Liz Stratton (Branksome Hall, Toronto, Ontario) {Member of Team Canada for WIDPSC 2009}
  • Sam Rappaport (Lower Canada College, Quebec)

The two alternates are:

  • Ashley Bowron (West Point Grey Academy, British Columbia)
  • Nicholas Carverhill (Walter Murray Secondary, Saskatoon)

Team Canada will be coached by Ms. Tracey Lee, WSDC Team Canada coach in 2009 and 2010. This will be her final stint as Team Canada coach as Team Canada 2012 will be co-coached by Elisa Frank and Josh Judah.

Team Canada 2011



  1. The info for Team Canada (above) is incorrect/incomplete. Liz Stratton was not an alternate member of Team Canada 2010. Our two alternates for Team Canada 2011 are Ashley Bowron (West Point Grey Academy, BC) and Nik Carverhill (Walter Murray Secondary, Sk) and our coach is Ms Tracey Lee who has coached Team Canada since 2009 and was the winning coach of Team Canada 2010.

Comments are closed.