Work Experience: Part 4


A lifetime’s road traversed in a week

At first, I detailed my first thoughts on Work Experience at Weir & Associates.
I then gave my view and opinion on the many things I observed in court. There were customs, interesting layout and a clear hierarchy within the courtroom. I also considered some of the etiquette involved within the legal world.

Work Environment

The work environment is a unique element in life, nowhere else, no other experience even mimcs the work environment. Every company naturally has the generic, business hierarchy, the boss, the managers and the workers. This is most obviously shown in office layout, usually by placement and size. It was rather obvious when I first entered that the top brass were given a room to themselves. And although in name all were partners, there were still notable differences in size. It is through these seemingly trivial methods that even a donkey could figure out the ‘real’ hierarchy of any company, roughly accurate.
On the second tier there are those with a medium sized room of their own but that have to share with another person. Finally, there were the plain old open-office seating plan where everyone else sat in the middle of the office. Even then there was still an internal hierarchy with seats ranked and some considered better than other, some with better seats and the like.

I was logically assigned a spare seat in the more sparsely populated second section of the office. It occurred to me during the first day that the seat seemed rather cold. In fact, I realized that my toilet trips were getting abnormally frequent. Admittedly, I was drinking a lot more water, still, it didn’t quite seem logical. At 6:30 I had my answer. The registered office work hours is between 9 and 6:30, hence the air-con runs between this time. As soon as 6:30 arrives, the air-con switches off in an all too loud way, informing all workers the day had ended. Only then is it really apparent how cold the office was and how loud the air-con was.
In the age of environmentalism, with freezing customers, workers and support staff, and with sky high electricity bills, it would appear to be a no-brainer to cut down air-conditioning costs. Especially with winter fast approaching, switching the air-conditioning to a higher temperature, with fewer machines and other energy saving installations, these measures would save money in the long run. It is understandable to be concerned about overdoing this. A stuffy, hot and sweaty office, although saving money, would make little difference than one that feels like the inside of a fridge.

Picture Gallery

Finally

Of course, when there’s a while, there’s a way. Nothing is impossible, not even a 15 year old student with no legal knowledge attending court, or working on a case, or even taking on a summer job. The week has been a wonderful learning opportunity that I’ve truly enjoyed. Many thanks to school for organizing and Weir & Associates for giving me this opportunity.

One comment

Comments are closed.